NEET PG Counselling 2021: Understand EWS, OBC quota and what SC order means


2021: The Supreme Court of India on Friday upheld the centre’s decision to implement 27 per cent OBC reservation in all India quota undergraduate and postgraduate medical seats. The top court also allowed 10 per cent EWS reservation for this year and for the upcoming years, the validity will be decided in a final hearing on March 3.

A bench of justices DY Chandrachud and AS Bopanna pronounced their judgement after hearing petitions challenging the centre’s July 29 notification for implementing 27 per cent OBC and 10 per cent reservation in all India quota of UG and PG.

This opens the way for the Medical Counselling Committee (MCC) to begin the NEET UG and NEET PG counselling process.

What is the All India Quota for NEET?

AIQ is the portion of seats in the medical colleges under the state that is given to the union government.

In 2021, the government conceded to the long-standing demand from OBC for reservation in the AIQ and also included a 10% quota for the EWS.

NEET 2021 Counselling: Who would benefit from OBC,

Authorities estimate that such inclusion will benefit around 4,000 OBC students together in getting medical both at the UG and PG levels and around 1,500 EWS students.

NEET 2021: Exclusions in the OBC, EWS quota

OBC reservation excludes people earning beyond Rs 8 lakh a year. EWS too has a cut off at Rs 8 lakh.

NEET 2021: What are the other criteria for EWS exclusion?

Persons who are not covered under the scheme of reservation for SCs, STs and OBCs and whose family has a gross annual income below Rs 8 lakh are to be identified as EWSs for the benefit of reservation. Income shall also include income from all sources i.e. salary, agriculture, business, profession, etc. for the financial year prior to the year of application.

Persons whose family owns or possesses any of the following assets shall be excluded from being identified as EWS, irrespective of the family income:

(i) Five acres of agricultural land and above;

(ii) Residential area of 1,000 sq ft and above;

(iii) Residential plot of 100 sq yards and above in notified municipalities;

(iv) Residential plot of 200 sq yards and above in areas other than the notified municipalities.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.

We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here